My first peer-reviewed publication

I’ve had my name in the acknowledgements (at the bottom) of many papers over the years and I’ve written or co-authored some Gov’t reports, but now, finally, I’ve got my name on top of a peer-reviewed publication.  It’s a note in the Journal of Marine Animals and Their Ecology (JMATE) Vol. 4 No. 2 2011

First Records of Anomalously White Harbor Porpoises (Phocoena phocoena) from the Pacific Ocean
William Keener1, Isidore Szczepaniak1, Adam Ü2, Marc Webber1 and Jonathan Stern3
1Golden Gate Cetacean Research, 9 Edgemar Way, Corte Madera, CA, USA
2Protected Resources Division, Southwest Fisheries Science Center, 3333 North Torrey Pines Court, La Jolla, CA, USA 
3Biology Dept., San Francisco State University, 1600 Holloway Avenue, San Francisco, CA, USA

My portion of this note is related to a sighting of a white harbor porpoise in the San Juan Islands of Washington that I didn’t think much of at the time, but became a bit more interested in after discussing porpoises with Bill Keener and the good folks at Golden Gate Cetacean Research in California.  Turns out it was the first record of an anomalously white harbor porpoise in the Pacific Ocean.  

I’d like to thank my co-authors Bill Keener, Isidor Szczepaniak, Marc Webber, and Jon Stern, not to mention the reviewers, for their help with the writing process and my co-workers at the USFS birdhouse for tolerating my off-effort efforts when it came to cetacean action.  

Leave a Reply

