Two recent papers from studies I’ve worked on in opposite corners of the world

Here are two recent publications from studies I’ve worked on in the past. It’s good to finally see the results of your efforts, even if the project isn’t necessarily yours and your name isn’t on the top of the paper. The first is on killer whale vocal behavio(u)r and feeding ecology the Shetland Islands, way up in North Atlantic. I had the pleasure of assisting Volker, Andy, and Milaja for two weeks in the summer of 2009 while I was working on my MRes at University of Aberdeen, and those two weeks pretty much made my year in Scotland.

The second is on the distribution and abundance of cetaceans around Guam and the Commonwealth of the Northern Mariana Islands, over in the Western Tropical Pacific and Philippine Sea. This paper is the result of the first dedicated marine mammal survey of the area which took place during the winter of 2007, and it’s nice to see as since this cruise, I’ve been back to the area twice to find marine mammals, including the project I’m working on right now.

Leave a Reply

